Publishing Science Fiction

IMG_9503Lots of exciting stuff is happening at my place.

First off, A World Too Far just got published! This is the first in a new exciting trilogy built around: The Ship, the Station and the Planet. I love to write about space ships and space stations. Our view of the universe has changed so much since I was in school. Yeah, yeah, I did learn the sun was the center, not the Earth, but black holes, dark matter, multi-verses– so much more has been discovered or speculated about over the last few years. I wanted to put some of that in my book.bk9_cover_a_world_too_far_ships_kindle

Next, I’m working on marketing… my style. This means I don’t have the funds for a blizzard of ads or the inclination to travel the country for low attendance signings. That gets expensive too. I haven’t built up a large local fan base, but my readers in Australia are amazingly enthusiastic.

Thanks, mates.

I want to go there some day. My daughter studied at Macquarrie for a term in Sidney and enjoyed the city. It’s on my radar.

I will be offering Caught in Time for free once more as a first in a series book on September 14th and on Free Kindle Books and Tips on the 15th. Here’s the link for Free Kindle Books and Tips: www.fkbt.com Check it out. I’d heard they were good and so far the process has been smooth and the cost reasonable.

The beauty of Indie publishing is that you can go back into the book and update to your current books in the front matter and give new links and information at the back. I also did another read through looking for punctuation and grammar corrections …and found a few. Fixed those.

I taught high school English, but commas still give me the fits.

Along with all this commotion, I’m writing the next book in the series and purely loving it. There are moments of panic when I wonder what is coming next, but the characters always come through with some new crisis that gets me scribbling away…er…madly texting. Human nature being what it is. Aliens being what they are–something always happens.

Also, I’m working on marketing A World Too Far and found a charming new reader who is a big science fiction fan. (my kind of guy) His son works at the Oilerie and just by mentioning I was an author, he showed interest, I showed my card…and the rest was fate. This is a shop that sells mainly olive oil along with a few other intriguing condiments. It’s become my go-to place.

Folks, real life is sometimes quirkier than fiction. And I’m richer for it.

I did a Facebook announcement and was overwhelmed by the response. Some of my former Bradford High School students that I taught back in the day in Florida, stay in touch. I get glimpses of their lives long after high school. It was also nice to reconnect with some of my earlier readers and catch up with them.

to-the-starsThis week I’m highlighting another ebook space adventure called To the Stars by Thomas C. Stone.

After a brief prelude, the story starts with the process of selecting a crew to go search for new worlds. Braithwaite Corporation is a conglomerate reaching out to develop new planets and they are sending out a ship. Our main character, Harry Irons, is put on standby but then gets selected for the crew through a suspicious death. So the flight starts out with some uneasiness with him wondering if a murderer is on board.

Of course, the crew doesn’t get along with each other. However, a serious romance develops between Harry and a smart, attractive girl named Kathleen. Their Captain, Fagan, has deep secrets and appears to be directing the expedition to a particular planet.

They land on a world that has large forests and a livable atmosphere, but questions concerning its evolution cause the explorers uneasiness. Then an indigenous species, very much like the aboriginal man, is discovered. There is a viewpoint shift as we see events transpiring through the eyes of two primitive men who are brothers.

But as the crew learns more about this world, another high-level species encased in a machine body shows up to hunt the humans.

While all this develops, tensions escalate among the human crew. Kathleen is kidnapped by the local cavemen where she learns about their primitive culture.

I enjoyed the description of traveling in space and the deepening mystery of the planet. Things were not fitting together, and it became more and more apparent through the character of Harry that their Captain, Fagan, had an undisclosed agenda and knew more than he let on.

I also liked the portrayal of the two different aliens. The plot moved along and the characters were believable. However, the cover could be better. Some readers didn’t like the treatment of other crew, calling it racist or biased, but I was fine with a varied crew, and I didn’t mind that it wasn’t politically correct for affirmative action bureaucrats.

It was not trendy scifi, but it was classic and enjoyable.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Publishing Science Fiction

  1. Congrats on the book, Sheron. And have fun marketing, it’s a never-ending adventure. 🙂

    Like

  2. Adventure… hmmm. I need a magic wand.

    Like

  3. Congrats on the launch, Sheri! Wish you all the best with the new trilogy!

    (I’ve been dormant on the interwebs far too long.)

    Like

  4. Thanks. I’ve missed your fantastic blogs. Glad you’re back.
    Wishing you the best of things with your final book in your Trilogy. Go girl!

    Like

Leave a Reply

