Time Traveling Neutrinos and Time Travel Romance

photoIn April, I found myself sitting near Thomas J. Weiler, who has a PhD. in theoretical physics from the University of Wisconsin and is a professor at Vanderbilt University. My sister, Sallie Mayne, is affiliated with the Chinese Arts Alliance in Nashville, and I was there for my mother’s 90th birthday. Sallie has organized a special once a month dinner party of adventurous Chinese dining, and I was invited. We ate at a round table and met some fascinating people. One was Tom Weiler. I mentioned I wrote science fiction time travel, and Tom smiled and commented that he was going to be on a television show called “Through the Wormhole.” Did I know it?

It’s one of my favorites. I TiVo it regularly.

Not thinking too much about it, as he was a friendly but unassuming gentleman, I made a point to record it and recently watched the show. I discovered that Dr. Weiler is investigating a theoretical subatomic particle called the Higgs-Singulaire that he believes can go back in time. If fact, he wrote and collaborated on a paper called “Neutrinos in Time.” (among many other papers). If he can discover and plot this elusive, now theoretical, particle, he may prove that time travel into the past is possible. Currently, there are conflicting experiments on the possibility.

I was blown away when I saw his segment and what he was doing. He also has a Ted lecture on neutrinos on Utube. If you want to know more, check it out.

Time travel

I write a lot about it because I think it’s interesting. My first book, Caught In Time deals with a created replicant of the last dying time traveler. She goes back to a medieval era on an alien planet to kill a supposedly mutant king. Since it’s a bit of a romance, love trips her up.

Other books in my series deal with cloning, alien invasions (yes, more than one), a comet crashing onto a nearby moon, space travel, the universe as a mathematical equation, and other science fiction concepts. Not all the books deal with time travel, but time travel is a predominate theme of the series.

That’s why this week’s book, Daughter of Time by Sarah Woodbury, intrigued me.Daughter of Time
What were the factors that drew me in? First, the subject matter was one I liked. Two, the cover and blurb were well executed. And last, the book was free on one of those free book sites. My price. I had nothing to lose. I actually bought it without checking reviews.
Okay, I’m lazy.

The main story takes place on Earth in Wales circa 1268, while the beginning is modern day.
A warning to any hard core military scifi fan– this leans more toward female tastes. Yes, you have both male and female point of views. The first is the female modern day protagonist who finds herself catapulted into a Wales of the past and has to deal with culture shock. The other main character is the stalwart Prince of Wales, who finds her beauty and attitude captivating, but has his hands full of nobility, including Edward, King of England, who wants to conquer his land and make it a part of Great Britain. Intrigue and double dealing distract Lord Llywelyn.

 

Footsteps in TimeI was pleasantly surprised at how well Ms. Woodbury sucked me into the characters and storyline. Because I had never Crossroads in Timeheard of her, I wasn’t expecting a lot.
I should have checked the reviews as she has a large, enthusiastic, fan base. Now I’m contemplating reading other books in the series.
That’s part of my marketing strategy, also. So if you like time travel romance a la Diana Gabaldon and me, you most likely will enjoy this series too.

Ps.

Weiler is a frontrunner in the use of neutrinos to elucidate new particle physics and astrophysics. He has previously won the Distinguished Alumni Fellow Award from the University of Wisconsin, received the Alexander von Humboldt Senior Research Career Award from Germany’s Alexander von Humboldt Foundation and served as an elected member of the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory board of directors. He is one of only 17 Simons Foundation Fellows in Theoretical Physics for 2014-15…and is a very nice dinner companion.

2 Comments

Filed under Best selling science fiction, hard science, Marketing and selling novels, science fiction, science fiction series, time travel

2 responses to “Time Traveling Neutrinos and Time Travel Romance

  1. What a great chance meeting, Sheron. Right up your alley.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I wish I could have talked a little more with him, but another diner sat between us and string theory and neutrinos are not usually common dinner discussions by women my age. The takeaway is to always learn what you can about new acquaintances, they may surprise you.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

