Dad: A science fiction inspiration

IMG_9518I would like to offer a tribute to my father

since this weekend is Father’s Day.

He’s the person who inspired me to write science fiction.

He loved to read it, and often mentioned that when he had time, he would write a science fiction novel.

Then, one day he retired…and started a story, but it was harder than he thought. He came and told me that he could read it, but he couldn’t write it

And threw the torch to me.

My father has since passed; but his love, his encouragement, and his memory remain with me.

Writing good science fiction became a life long goal of mine that I worked on for many years while I managed a day job, ran a household, raised a child and tended a marriage.

Whew! Not easy.

space-song-cover-smashwords

Persistence (stubbornness?) often is key to success. His spirit and his memory kept me going, and recently I published my fifth novel in the Alysian Universe series, and plan to publish the sixth, called Touching Crystal by November of this year. I’ve put that goal up in front of me and am working hard to get there in time.

Are you an inspiring father? Maybe mother?

So in honor of my father, I put the newest book Space Song on KDP Select and will offer it free on Kindle as an ebook for three days only over Father’s Day weekend. June 14, 15, 16. If you have a kindle, iPad or other device, you can download it.

I hope you like it and maybe take a look at the others in the series.

Ender's GameWhat is your favorite science fiction story?

I realized that with all the books I have suggested and discussed, I never mention Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card. 

And now, they’re finally making it into a movie.

This is one of my favorites books, and over the past several years Card has added in prequels and sequels that are pretty good, also.

Like Space Song,  Ender’s Game deals with how to defend against an alien threat.

Card focuses on Battle School while my protagonist builds a space station and warships while getting distracted by a genetic mystery.

His newest novel in the series is a prequel that comes out this month (June 2013) called Earth Afire and Earth Afiredeals with the Formic Wars.

With the box office success of The Hunger Games, it appears Hollywood is more open to science fiction stories than ever before.

Hunger Games2001:A Space Odessey did pretty well, not to mention “Star Wars” and the subsequent prequels there.

“Catching Fire” will be coming out in the fall, so if “Enders Game” does well, there’s plenty of product in the many other books in the series.

Science fiction seems to be a genre that converts well onto the screen.

What book would you like to see being made into a movie?

4 Comments

Filed under alien life forms, Aliens in Science Fiction, award winning scifi, Best selling science fiction, ebook science fiction, genetic manipulation, Hunger Games, modifying humans, science fiction, Science Fiction book review, Science Fiction Mystery, science fiction series, Space opera

4 responses to “Dad: A science fiction inspiration

  1. How do I get you to review my book, The Gavaskar Field? It is just now on the market and I’m trying to get the word out.

    Like

    • I am in the process of setting up certain criteria as I am getting overwhelmed with requests. Those awful editors that I used to rail about never responding are now looking very reasonable as I juggle enthusiastic new writers and try to find time for my own writing–not to mention marketing. Two chapters and a short description about the book will give me enough to see if I want to go further. Remember…what I like is not always the same as others. Every story is worthwhile, but may not fit into what I’m doing at the moment. No foul, no harm here. No horror, just science fiction or occasional fantasy. That’s the target. And I rarely do anthologies unless you’re a dear, dear friend.

      Like

  2. When I was a kid (in the UK), my Dad would bring me copies of USA pulp SciFi mags. They opened up a million new worlds and possibilities for me, and provided untold hours of excitement and enjoyment. In retirement, I have now started submitting my own stories to some of those very same magazines. So my Dad, too, turned me on to Science Fiction. Belated Happy Father’s Day to all other inspirational Dads (and a bit of encouragement to those who are perhaps a little less so).

    Which book to see turned into a movie? It must be the one I am working on!

    Like

Leave a Reply

